Declaration Against Anti-Semitism Signed at the 33rd International Mayors Conference

Friday, March 8, 2019 - 10:23am

We, the undersigned Mayors, participants in the 33rd International Mayors Conference,

Underscoring that Anti-Semitism is a form of oppression that has perpetuated the marginalization of Jewish communities around the world, declare solemnly to stand against it and racial and religious hatred in all forms, no matter from where or whom they come,

We hold firmly the belief that Anti-Semitism is a manifestation of hate and racism that has harmed the Jewish people for centuries, and that harmful narratives and stereotypes about the Jewish community have affected the way in which the world perceives it.       

For years, Anti-Semitism has hurt Jewish communities around the world, making them vulnerable to despicable acts of violence that threaten the very existence of the Jewish people. From the horrors of the Holocaust to traditional Anti-Semitic tropes to the delegitimization of the State of Israel, Anti-Semitism continues to pose a serious threat today. All forms of Anti-Semitism are unethical and cause harm not only to Jewish people but also to other minorities and to the fight for social justice around the world.

Understanding the current threats stemming from Anti-Semitism requires us to listen to Jewish voices; to fight for the rights and dignity of the Jewish people; to stand resolute against violence and terrorism around the world; to recognize the significance of the land of Israel and the holy city of Jerusalem to the Jewish people; to treat antisemitism with the same gravity as any other form of ethnic, racial, or religious discrimination; to speak out against attempts to deny Jewish history; and to condemn all who minimize, trivialize, or deny the Holocaust.





Mayor Nasry Asfura Zablah, Tegucigalpa, Honduras

Mayor Khalid Belisle, Belmopan, Belize

Mayor Astrid Cora Fodor, Sibiu, Romania

Mayor Isidore Gnonlonfoun, Cotonou, Benin

Mayor Julian Gold, Beverly Hills, California, USA

Mayor Daniel Guerrero, San Pedro, Belize

Mayor Timbi Pascal Kaboré, Soaw, Burkina Faso

Mayor Vitali Klitschko, Kiev, Ukraine

Mayor Ko Wen-Je, Taipei, Taiwan

Mayor Jorge Macri, Vicente López, Argentina

Mayor Luis Bernardo Nava Guerrero, Querétaro, Mexico

Mayor Wild Ndipo, Blantyre, Malawi

Mayor William Peduto, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Mayor Igor Radojičić, Banja Luka, Bosnia and Herzegovina

Mayor Zoran Radojičić, Belgrade, Serbia

Mayor Ramón Antonio Ramírez, Veron Punta Cana, Dominican Republic

Mayor Claudio Scajola, Imperia, Italy

Mayor Bojan Šrot, Celje, Slovenia

Mayor Ethan Strimgling, Portland, Maine, USA

Mayor Contantin Toma, Buzău, Romania

Mayor René Polanco Vidal, Santo Domingo Norte, Dominican Republic

Mayor Kayanja Vincent de Paul, Entebbe, Uganda

Mayor Nebojša Zelenović, Šabac, Serbia